Life Is A Matter Of Choices But The Struggle Is Real….

Image source: Google

I believe one of the most difficult aspects of being an adult is making a decision. Sometimes, a decision as simple as food choice can be a hard task. If only we got the memo early. And the interesting this is, it’s almost impossible and nonavoidable. For as long as you exist, you will be left with making choices.

The time and energy needed to make a decision can sometimes run out. I struggle with it so much, I’m numb to making decisions, and fear covers my heart as I make those choices. I’m mostly left with the thought of whether I’m making the right choice or not or whether I’ve made the right choice. That’s common with big life decisions.

I’m writing this not to share how I’ve gotten better at making decisions, but to dedicate my heart to my struggle. While trying to find help for myself, I came across an article that shared some tips on how to feel at peace with your choices. I ll share them here;

1. Take your time. Do your best to not make an impulsive decision. Sit with your options. When one decision feels more accepting than the other, sit with that choice for a little bit longer. Honor the feelings that are brought about and reflect on why you are feeling those feelings. Happiness, sadness, anger are normal feelings when making a big life decision. Even if the choice leaves you feeling sad, it doesn’t mean it’s not the right one. 

2. Trust your…? Exactly! You don’t always have to go with your gut instinct. It’s impossible to know if it’s your heart, your head or your gut that you should listen to. My suggestion, listen to what is strongest and then look at #1 again. 

3. Go with it! Don’t keep changing your mind. If the choice you make is a mistake, so be it. You can deal with that later. If you have looked at #1 and #2, then for now listen to what is strongest and go with that. If you keep changing your mind, you are never going to make a decision. 

4. Reflect: If the choice has already been made, reflect on why you made the choice in the first place. Your decisions at any point are based on your values at that particular stage in your life.

More tips:

When it comes to making choices, sometimes there’s a clear winner. But other times, it can feel like a crapshoot.

No matter what, you can’t predict the future. After you make your choice, more information may come to light. Instead of thinking, “I should have made a different choice,” trust in yourself that you made the best decision you could at the time with the information you had.

If you find yourself wondering how things might have gone if you’d made another choice, or you are still confused on which choice to make, remember that in many ways there is no such thing as a bad decision, all options teach us something.

1. If you are troubled by a past decision and often wonder, “what if”, keep in mind there is no rewind button. Practicing acceptance and forgiveness is powerful. All choices have their pros and cons, and there is no way of knowing what unforeseen complexities might have arisen if you’d chosen the other path.

2. Take comfort in believing that the choice you made, or will be making, is the best option for where you are at in your life.

These tips are culled from https://goodthingsaregonnacome.com/how-to-feel-at-peace-with-your-choices/

One thing that I’m learning and redefining is that for better or worse, the choices I make in this so-called life journey will contribute to my growth. Whatever decision I make, good or bad, it doesn’t give me a clear picture of what the future will look like. I can only continue to pray for God’s guidance and grace because He knows everything, sees everything, and hears everything. I pray that we all overcome our difficulties in making life choices.

Can you relate? I hope this helps🤗

Cheers to the weekend❤️❤️

Published by Oluwaseyi Akorede

Hello...…. My name is Oluwaseyi Akorede, a Striving Muslimah, Wife, Mother, Kitchen Enthusiast, a Story teller, Freestyle Writer and a HR Generalist. I write about things that inspire me, parenting, food and random things. I believe in sharing and helping people because I derive pleasure from it. I want to share my knowledge with world and I hope and pray it becomes beneficial for everyone. Thanks for being here!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started